A heart-warming story about Alzheimer’s disease and love

On 2014 I released my book The Staircase on Pine Street, a heart-warming tale of family love and Alzheimer’s disease. Now, to be honest, I haven’t had much luck promoting it. Or much time. Those who are familiar with the publishing world know how brutal it can be. Marketing is tough, when you are a one-man-band like me.

I’ve decided that this New year I’m going to give “The Staircase on Pine

cover.new
Click to buy

Street” the attention it deserves. I just released it in KINDLE format for only $3.99.  I’ll be working on other formats, as well as the Spanish version. If you have the opportunity to download it (or get the PAPERBACK version), please leave a review and share it with others. I honestly believe this little book can help children understand Alzheimer’s disease, and help cope with it, while reminding us of what matters most: living a live full of love.

I’d like to leave you a sample, a personal note that ends this book, and resumes my inspiration for it:

“My grandmother’s name was Luzmila. She was sweet, caring and tender. Most of all, she liked to be fair with her 16 grandchildren. For example, if she gave us candy, she would make sure everyone got the same lot. She loved her brothers and sisters. She was also very proud of her dad, who had been a lawyer and a writer, and her mom, who had been a stay-at-home mom and a lover of arts. She would always tell family stories, about aunts and uncles, grandparents and great grandparents. She wanted to keep their memory alive. She loved poetry, and enjoyed reciting out loud, just the way she had done when she was a little girl. She baked the best cakes, with recipes that always came from her mind. I think it was painful for her when she started forgetting her grandchildren names. She called me by her side and asked me to tell her all of our names. Every day, it became a routine. My favorite memory of her is when I was little and I went to the market with her. She would hold my hand while we walked around the unpaved corridors. It smelled like potatoes, crushed tomatoes and spice. I would point at my favorite treat, ‘cocoliche’, which was nothing more than puffed wheat with a touch of honey, wrapped in colorful tissue paper forming a cone. Then, at the end of our trip she would stop at the ‘bazaar’ to get her sewing supplies and would buy me a paper doll cut-out sheet. At that moment I was the happiest girl in the world! I loved her deep blue eyes. They sometimes would change color to an almost purple hue. How I wished I had her eyes! But I know those eyes look at me from above. When the setting sun changes the sky’s color from blue to purple shades, it reminds me of her eyes, and I know she’s there, and I smile.”

Mariana-Luzmila-500pix

Love and peace to all,

Mariana

little llanos_transparente (1)Mariana Llanos is a Peruvian-born writer with six children’s books published to date. She lives in Oklahoma with her family. Find out more on http://www.marianallanos.com and visit her on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/author/marianallanos
18 thoughts on “A heart-warming story about Alzheimer’s disease and love

  1. Reblogged this on BOOK CHAT and commented:
    The Staircase on Pine Street is both informative and entertaining… It explains Alzheimer’s disease in a way that in not scary for children. It is available for Kindle and in paperback.

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    Mariana Llanos is a Peruvian-born writer with six children’s books published to date. The Staircase on Pine Street is a story that will help children understand the complexities of Alzheimer’s Disease. Mariana has just released for Kindle and it would help get this important story noticed if you could head over and share on your social media.

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on poetry, photos and musings oh my! and commented:
    Pretending Alzheimer’s will never appear in the lives of family or friends is denial and one is best armed with intelligent information. Here it is from the source, one who has experienced the changes and devastation of a loved one. As for myself, I look forward to a copy of the paperback as it becomes available.

    Like

    1. I appreciate this re-blog. You’re absolutely right, pretending it doesn’t exist doesn’t make it go away. Just FYI, the paperback copy is already out. Now it is available on Kindle and paperback. Soon in Spanish too. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Reblogged this on sherriemiranda1 and commented:
    It is a wonderful tribute that Mariana Llanos wrote this children’s book to help people understand Alzheimer’s Disease and how it affects our loved ones. It is very important that children be involved in the life of a senior. It is the difference between depression and happiness at the end of their lives.
    It is also good for children to mourn along with their parents when they lose a loved one.
    Thank you, Mariana! 😉 ❤
    Peace & blessings to all,
    Sherrie
    Sherrie Miranda's historically based, coming of age, Adventure novel “Secrets & Lies in El Salvador” is about an American girl in war-torn El Salvador:
    http://tinyurl.com/klxbt4y

    Like

Leave a Reply

